Pacific Rim – Review

Image

 

WOOOOOAH

I mean c’mon, seriously that was just incredible.

Ok I knew going in there was a high probability that I was going to like this movie, I’m a massive fan of Guillermo Del Toro, I’m a massive fan of giant robots fighting giant monsters and I’m a massive fan of Charlie Hunnam (Jackson Teller from Sons of Anarchy) but I can honestly say as sky high as my expectations of this movie were they were well and truly exceeded.

There’s not one bad thing I can say about this movie except that I just want MOAR. Starting with the action, thankfully I avoided most of the trailers and TV spots so I didn’t ruin too much of it for myself, the fight scenes were just mind blowingly awesome. In a world where I’ve become pretty desensitized to over the top CGI spectacle I actually found myself breathless and aghast watching this movie.Image

 

 

What made it even more impressive was that I actually cared about the characters. They did a great job on the human side of the story that gives the movie a real emotional core, and made the action even more intense as I really wanted the humans to win. The comedic elements are perfectly measured so as not to become annoying but just enough to add some levity and joy into the movie. Which is another great thing about this movie, it seems like everyone just wants to make things overly serious, cynical and depressing in movies and whilst that works in some movies it’s nice to see something uplifting and hopeful for once.

I really haven’t got much else to say, I just loved it. It’s absolutely the best movie I’ve seen this year. Can’t wait for the blu ray and I pray to god they do a sequel. 

2 thoughts on “Pacific Rim – Review

    • Sure they were a bit cheesy at times but I found that quite fitting for the genre. The dialogue was straight out of an anime. I think ‘fun’ sums it up pretty well though I defy anyone to watch this flick and not have fun.

Leave a comment